Key Facts

Level 3
Subject Sector:
13.2 Direct Learning Support
Qualification No:
28 hours
Total qualification time:
40 hours
£34.50 per learner
Age Range:

Qualification purpose

Prepare for further learning or training and/or develop knowledge and/or skills in a subject area

Qualification Grading Type


Assessment Methods

  • Portfolio of Evidence

  • Why choose this qualification?

    The Gateway Qualifications suite of Dyspraxia qualifications have been developed to enable a wide range of learners to improve their knowledge and understanding of dyspraxia, and in the case of the Level 3 Award in Supporting Learners with Dyspraxia to equip them with the skills to support the learning of individuals with dyspraxia. While it is expected that the Level 3 Awards will be largely taken by people working with individuals with dyspraxia in a professional capacity, the lower level Awards, in particular the Level 1 Award in Dyspraxia Awareness, are also suitable for other types of learner, including parents and carers of children or young people with dyspraxia.

    The qualifications provide progression through the suite from Level 1 to Level 3. The Level 3 qualifications may also prepare learners to move on to a Level 5 Diploma in Teaching Learners with Specific Learning Difficulties or to a broader Level 3 qualification in Supporting Teaching and Learning in Schools or a Level 3 Certificate for Learning Support Practitioners.

    The approved age range for these qualifications is 16-18 and 19+ for the three Awards in Dyspraxia Awareness and 18+ for the Level 3 Award in Supporting Learners with Dyslexia.

    There are no restrictions to entry. However, learners must be able to work directly with one or more individuals with dyspraxia in order to achieve the Level 3 Award in Supporting Learners with Dyspraxia

    This qualification is available to study through our partnership with Curriculum and Quality Solutions (CQS). For more information and prices please visit the CQS website.


    Study this qualification with CQS

    Rules of Combination

    Learners must achieve the single mandatory unit, totalling 4 credits.



    Learners must achieve the single mandatory unit, totalling 4 credits.

    Supporting Learners with Dyspraxia

    Level 3
    Guided Learning Hours:
    Unit No:
    Click here to view full unit details

    What is the purpose of this qualification?

    This qualification is suitable if learners want to improve your ability to support the learning of individuals with dyspraxia. It will be particularly relevant for teachers, teaching assistants and learning support staff who have responsibility for supporting learners with dyspraxia. Learners will need to be in a role where you are offering learning support in order to meet the assessment requirements for the qualification.

    What skills, knowledge, or understanding does this qualification develop?

    Learners will take one mandatory unit which covers the skills needed to offer person-centred learning support to individuals with dyspraxia, select and adapt appropriate resources, create a suitable learning environment, monitor progress and evaluate and adapt teaching and learning strategies.

    Which sector does this qualification support?

    The qualification will help learner develop in an existing role, such as a teacher, teaching assistant or learning support practitioner, and to take on additional responsibility.

    What are the progression options?

    Learners could progress from this qualification to a broader Level 4 qualification such as the Gateway Qualifications Level 4 Certificate in Supporting the Learning of Learners with Special Educational Needs and Disability. Learners might also choose to develop your understanding of other learning difficulties or disabilities, and learn how to support individuals with these, through further Level 3 qualifications such as Gateway Qualifications Level 3 Award in Supporting Learners with Autism or Level 3 Award in Supporting Learners with Dyslexia.

    Progression & entry requirements

    Learners must be 18 or over to enter for this qualification. Learners do not need any specific qualifications or prior levels of attainment to be eligible to take the qualification.

    Funding information

    There are now two main sources for funding information, a straightforward ESFA Qualification Search and the more detailed Find a Learning Aim website.

    The new Find a learning aim (FALA) service provides a search tool that you can use to check the funding status of any qualification, framework, unit, standard or T Level:

    View this qualification on the ESFA’s Find a learning aim website

    The Education and Skills Funding Agency search provides funding information on qualifications. It does not provide funding information for units, non-regulated activity and work placements, for this information please use Find a learning aim (FALA).

    View this qualification on the ESFA Qualification Funding Search

    How to find a learning aim

    If you’re not sure how to use the new find a learning aim website, we’ve created a handy walkthrough to help you:

    How to Use: Find a learning Aim

    We have done our best to collate and summarise the key information, and wherever possible we alert our providers to changes in funding policy.

    This funding information is provided in good faith and it is always advisable to check directly with the funding agencies before committing to delivery.

    The following support materials will help you to deliver this qualification.

    Internal Quality Assurance

    Special Considerations and Reasonable Adjustment Forms

    Suggested Resources for SEND