Level 2
Unit No:
Guided learning hours:
24 hours

Assessment Guidance

Portfolio of Evidence


This unit considers different types of loss and grief and how the health and social care worker can support someone in their care through the different stages of grieving.

Unit Learning Outcomes


Know about loss and grief.

Different types of loss and grief may include

  • loss of a partner, sibling, child, parent
  • marital breakdown
  • friend or colleague
  • close friend or member of family moving away to another town or country
  • sudden and unexpected death
  • expected death of young person, chronically ill or elderly

Effects of loss and grief may include:

  • social e.g. if the person has lost their partner it may result in loss of friendships, challenge of going places or holidays, on their own, isolation and loneliness, more time to meet new friends if person has been a long-time carer
  • emotional e.g. depression, overwhelming sadness, sense of loss, relief if person has been suffering, fear of the unknown e.g. financial issues, household maintenance
  • physical e.g. loss of weight, weight gain
  • behavioural effects e.g. anger, withdrawal, frustrations

Culture, religion or personal beliefs can provide a sense of comfort, reassurance of life beyond death, knowing the person is in a better place

Assessment Criteria

  • 1.1
    Describe the different types of loss and grief that people may encounter in their lives.
  • 1.2
    Describe the different effects loss and grief can have on people at different stages of their life, including social, emotional, physical and behavioural effects.
  • 1.3
    Describe the way in which a person’s culture, religion or personal beliefs may affect the way in which they experience grief and loss.


Know the process of grieving and adjusting to loss.

There are a number of different stages in the grieving process. These may include:

  • shock and denial
  • pain and guilt
  • anger and bargaining
  • depression, reflection and loneliness
  • the upward turn - beginning to get back to some degree of normality
  • reconstruction and working through acceptance and hope.

Assessment Criteria

  • 2.1
    Outline some of the different views about the stages an individual goes through when grieving or adjusting to loss.


Know how a health and social care professional can support an individual to adjust to loss or grief.

Supporting a person through the process of grieving may include listening to them, being available and approachable, suggesting support groups. Helping a person deal with the effects of loss or grief on their lives may include e.g. encouraging a person to go out and meet people, take on new interests, practical support such as helping to manage finances.

Accessing support for themselves will give the person a sense of purpose and control. The health and social care worker wants to promote a person-centred approach when supporting the person.

Assessment Criteria

  • 3.1

    Describe different strategies a health and social care professional can use to help an individual:

    a) through the process of grieving
    b) deal with the effects of loss or grief on their lives.

  • 3.2
    Explain how strategies for supporting an individual might differ according to their age, culture, religion or personal beliefs.
  • 3.3
    State how accessing support for themselves can help a health and social care professional to better support those adjusting to loss or grief.


Know about support services for people grieving or adjusting to loss.

Types of support may include:

  • persons own medical practice
  • support groups e.g. Samaritans
  • religious groups
  • charities eg bereavement uk, Cruse

Assessment Criteria

  • 4.1
    Outline the types of support available to people grieving or adjusting to loss and how they can be accessed.