Essential Digital Skills qualifications (EDSQs) will be available later this year and will be automatically funded for adults who don’t have the basic digital skills they need for life and work.

When we spoke to providers about developing our Essential Digital Skills qualifications, we found that the standards aren’t well understood. To help with this, we’ve turned the DfE’s information into a handy infographic (which you can download by clicking here), which explains the five skill areas covered by the standards.

The Essential Digital Skills standards are:

  1. Using devices and handling information
  2. Creating and editing
  3. Communicating
  4. Transacting
  5. Being safe and responsible online

click here to download the Essential Digital Skills Infographic

Introducing Essential Digital Skills

We’ve also created a short 30-second video to take you through the standards too.