The Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) has published details of the qualifications included in the National Skills Fund level 3 offer for adults.

The qualifications on the list will be fully funded from April 2021 for any adult aged 24 and over who wants to achieve their first full level 3 qualification. The list will be kept under review and Gateway Qualifications is able to suggest additions to the list, so if there is a need in your area to support adult learners that could benefit from qualifications which are not currently on the list, please contact us to discuss the possibility of adding those.

Update 29th November 2021: From April 2022 adults who are unemployed or earning less than the national living wage will be eligible for full funding irrespective of prior achievement.

Update 2nd March 2021: A number of our digital skills qualifications at Level 3 have been added to the list of qualifications included in the National Skills Fund:

What is the National Skills Fund?

The National Skills Fund is intended to help adults gain the skills needed to improve their job prospects. The Government has announced it plans to invest £2.5 billion in the fund over the coming years.  The National Skills Fund can be used to support the immediate economic recovery and build the future skills that employers require.  In the November 2020 Spending review, the Chancellor announced £375 million for the National Skills Fund. More information about the National Skills Fund is available on the ESFA website.

Which qualifications are included?

The full list of qualifications included in the Level 3 offer adults is available on the ESFA website. Gateway Qualifications provision which is eligible includes the following qualifications:

Building and construction


Health and social care

Horticulture and forestry

Teaching and lecturing

Warehousing and distribution